8th International Conference on Adhesive Bonding 2025

FEUP, Porto - Portugal
10-11 July 2025


Welcome to the web site of the 8th international conference on structural adhesive bonding AB2025. The 8th International Conference on Structural Adhesive Bonding 2025 will take place in Porto, Portugal, 10-11 July 2025. The conference venue is the campus of the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Porto (FEUP), which offers excellent facilities for high quality scientific interactions. FEUP is located in the town of Porto in the Northern region of Portugal. Porto is a beautiful and lively city, steeped in history and rich in great experiences. With its magnificent location by the Atlantic coast, Porto is the city of the world famous Port Wine and the River Douro.

This conference is held every two years in Porto. The conference is chaired by Lucas F. M. da Silva and co-chaired by R. D. Adams (University of Oxford, UK). The focus is on structural bonding but all relevant areas of bonding are welcome: Fundamental aspects of adhesion; The science and technology of surfaces; Advances in adhesive materials; Mechanical properties of bonded joints; Innovative designs and applications; Testing and standardization; Industrial aspects; Quality procedures; Environmental and ecological aspects.

Deadline for Submission of Abstracts:
28 February 2025

Notification of Acceptance to Authors:
21 March 2025

Early bird registration:
11 April 2025

Submission of papers (not compulsory to submit a paper):
10 July 2025

Call for Papers
Abstract template
Abstracts should be sent electronically to Lucas F M da Silva at lucas@fe.up.pt. Indicate in the email if you want oral or poster presentation.

 Registration Form 


To register for the Conference, please fill in the electronic registration form. Each participant, including authors, is expected to pay the corresponding registration fee.

Early bird (Until 11th April 2025)
Regular delegate - 650 EUR
Student (MSc or PhD) - 550 EUR
Member of APAA (Portuguese Society of Adhesion and Adhesives) - 550 EUR
Online - Videoconference - 400 EUR

Standard (From 12th April 2025)
Regular delegate - 750 EUR
Student (MSc or PhD) - 650 EUR
Member of APAA (Portuguese Society of Adhesion and Adhesives) - 650 EUR
Online - Videoconference - 500 EUR

The conference fee includes cd-rom of abstracts, lunches, conference dinner, coffee-breaks and reception first day.

Cancellation Policy
In case of cancellation, a written notification should be sent to the conference chairman. If it is received prior to May 9th, 2025, registration fees will be refunded with a deduction of €75. No refund can be made after May 9th, 2025.

Payment of Conference Fee
Payments are accepted by bank transfer or credit card. Register here.

Ms. Lurdes Catalino
T.: +351 22 204 3570
M.: +351 965 101 393


Lucas F M da Silva
Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto, Portugal

Robert D Adams
Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Bristol, UK
Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford, UK

Agustín Chiminelli (ITAINNOVA, Spain)
Alberto Sastre (SIKA, Spain)
Alessandro Pirondi (Università degli Studi di Parma, Italy)
Alireza Akhavan (INEGI, Portugal)
Andrea Bernasconi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Andreas Lutz (Dupont, Switzerland)
Antonio Pizzi (University of Lorraine, France)
Chiaki Sato (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Davide Castagnetti (Università degli studi di Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy)
Eduardo Marques (INEGI, Portugal)
Elisabeth Stammen (TU Braunschweig, Germany)
Eugenio Dragoni (Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy)
Fabrizio Moroni (Università degli Studi di Parma, Italy)
Fernão D. Magalhães (University of Porto, Portugal)
Frédéric Lachaud (ISAE-SUPAERO, France)
Francisca Arán-Ais (INESCOP Innovation and Technology Centre, Spain)
Georgios Stamoulis (Université de Bretagne Occidentale, France)
James G Broughton (Oxford Brookes University, United Kingdom)
Jens Holtmannspötter (WIWeB, Germany)
Juan Carlos Del Real (Universidad Pontificia Comillas Madrid, Spain)
Klaus Dilger (Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany)
Konstantinos Tserpes (University of Patras, Greece)
Luca Goglio (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
Luisa Carvalho (Polytechnic Institute of Viseu, Portugal)
Łukasz Sadowski (Wrocław University of Science and Technology, Poland)
Majid Ayatollahi (Iran University of Science and Technology, Iran)
Maurice Brogly (University of Haute Alsace, France)
Michal Budzik (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Nao Terasaki (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan)
Nicolas Carrere (ENSTA, France)
Paul Ludwig Geiß (University of Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Pedram Zamani (Ferdowsi University of Mashhad, Iran)
Philipp Weißgraeber (University of Rostock, Germany)
Raul Campilho (ISEP, Portugal)
Roger Sauer (Aachen University, Germany)
Romain Créac'hcadec (ENSTA, France)
Seung-Boo Jung (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
Silvio De Barros (CEFET/RJ, Brazil)
Stefan Böhm (University of Kassel, Germany)
Stephan Marzi (TH Mittelhessen, Germany)
Till Vallée (Fraunhofer IFAM, Germany)
Uwe Reisgen (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
Xiao Han (Dalian University of Technology, China)
Yukihiro Kusano (Danish Technological Institute, Denmark)


Conference proceedings with the accepted abstracts will be available at the registration.

The full papers will be published in special issues of

International Journal of Adhesion and Adhesives
and in a book of the book series Proceedings in Engineering Mechanics - Research, Technology and Education (SPRINGER) (provided they meet the journals standard). 

The full papers should be sent to the e-mail lucas@fe.up.pt before the 10th of July 2025. The text should be in single column format and double line spacing.


Soon available


The poster size must be maximum A0 (841 mm x 1189 mm) in portrait (see sample image). The text and illustrations should be readable from a distance of two meters. Tacks and technical equipment for the hanging of posters will be available. Please check the conference final program for the poster board number assigned to you. Your poster should be displayed as per the number in the program.

Venue and Hotels

Conference venue: Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto
Rua Dr. Roberto Frias, 4200-465 Porto, Portugal
If you are arriving by subway (Metro), you should exit at IPO station (walking distance to FEUP).
Note that when travelling from Sá Carneiro airport and from the main train station (Campanhã), there is a SUBWAY/METRO connection, with transboarding in Trindade (Trindade Station) to the IPO station. Information on Metro.

Please consult the list of hotels with special rates. To benefit from this, please access the registration area using online facilities.
For further information about travel and hotels, please contact:
Ms. Lurdes Catalino

T.: +351 22 204 3570
M.: +351 965 101 393


The best oral presentation will be awarded with a certificate and copy of 'Handbook of Adhesion Technology, 2nd edition' (Lucas F M da Silva, Andreas Öchsner, Robert D Adams (Editors), 'Handbook of Adhesion Technology', Springer, Heidelberg, 2018) offered by Springer.

The best poster presentation will be awarded with a certificate and a copy of ‘Introduction to Adhesive Bonding’ (EAS Marques, ASQF Barbosa, RJC Carbas, A Akhavan-Safar, LFM da Silva, ‘Introduction to Adhesive Bonding’, Wiley, Weinheim, 2021) offered by Wiley.